Contents‎ > ‎

NEO.emu

Important Note: Make sure to use Neogeo zipped rom sets from a recent MAME set like 0.144 and higher. Do not use sets from Neorage or FBA since they are not 100% compatible. Also do not unzip or rename any game files.

Initial Setup:
  • Create a game directory on your device (named Neogeo for example), using a file manager app or your PC
  • Obtain neogeo.zip from a recent version of MAME and place it in the directory. If you're having trouble finding the right one, search Google for "MAME Bios"
  • Obtain at least one game zip and place it in the directory, making sure it's on the compatibility list below. For example, if you want "Metal Slug", you'll need the file mslug.zip
  • Launch NEO.emu and select "Load Game", then navigate to the directory you previously made and select the game zip you want to run
  • Once you've navigated to the game directory, you may also select "Load Game From List" to show the full titles for easier game selection
Neogeo-specific Options:
  • Emulate Timer: Enable the per-scanline timer used in some games for raster effects. "Auto" enables it using a built-in list of games that require it (mostly soccer ones). Turn it off if you experience flickering graphics.
  • Make/Use Cache Files: Create and use .gno cache files when loading a game. These files speed up loading and reduce memory usage of games but may not work with all games yet. Loading a game the first time without a .gno file present will take 2x-3x longer, but once created the game will load around 10x faster.

FAQ:

    Q: I'm stuck with 4 credits, how do I insert more?

    A: When in console (AES) mode, you can't insert more credits just like the real Neogeo system. If you push start+select to access the Universe BIOS menu, most games have infinite life/credit cheats listed. Alternatively, to switch into arcade (MVS) mode: open the app menu, change the setting under Unibios Switches, and reset the game. Now push the select button to insert as many credits as you like.

Compatibility List (All sets were tested from MAME 0.144, larger ones require devices with at least 512MB of memory):

OKRuns, but has issues
Doesn't work yet on all ports

Note: No current ports use the C core so all issues with it are now marked "OK"

 Game Title
 Filename Compatibility Note
3 Count Bout  3countb.zip 
2020 Super Baseball  2020bb.zip 
Alpha Mission II  alpham2.zip 
Andro Dunos  androdun.zip 
Aggressors of Dark Kombat  aodk.zip 
Art of Fighting  aof.zip 
Art of Fighting 2  aof2.zip 
Art of Fighting 3  aof3.zip 
Bakatonosama Mahjong Manyuki  bakatono.zip 
Bang Bang Busters
 bbbuster.zip 
Bang Bead  bangbead.zip 
Blue's Journey  bjourney.zip 
Blazing Star  blazstar.zip 
Breakers  breakers.zip 
Breakers Revenge  breakrev.zip 
Baseball Stars Professional  bstars.zip 
Baseball Stars 2  bstars2.zip 
Burning Fight  burningf.zip 
Crossed Swords  crsword.zip 
Captain Tomaday  ctomaday.zip 
Cyber-Lip  cyberlip.zip 
Digger Man (prototype)  diggerma.zip 
Double Dragon  doubledr.zip 
Eight Man  eightman.zip 
Fatal Fury Special  fatfursp.zip 
Fatal Fury  fatfury1.zip 
Fatal Fury 2  fatfury2.zipCorrupt Graphics
Fatal Fury 3  fatfury3.zip 
Football Frenzy  fbfrenzy.zip 
Fight Fever  fightfev.zip 
Battle Flip Shot  flipshot.zip 
Galaxy Fight  galaxyfg.zip 
Ganryu  ganryu.zip 
Garou - Mark of the Wolves  garou.zip 
Ghostlop (prototype)  ghostlop.zip 
Goal! Goal! Goal!  goalx3.zip 
Voltage Fighter - Gowcaizer  gowcaizr.zip 
Ghost Pilots  gpilots.zip 
Gururin  gururin.zip 
Ironclad / Choutetsu Brikin'ger ironclad.zip 
The Irritating Maze  irrmaze.zip Lockup
Jyanshin Densetsu - Quest of Jongmaster  janshin.zip 
Jockey Grand Prix  jockeygp.zip Lockup
Puzzled / Joy Joy Kid  joyjoy.zip 
Far East of Eden - Kabuki Klash / Tengai Makyou - Shin Den  kabukikl.zip 
Karnov's Revenge / Fighter's History Dynamite  karnovr.zip 
Kizuna Encounter - Super Tag Battle  kizuna.zip 
KOF 94  kof94.zip 
KOF 95  kof95.zip 
KOF 96  kof96.zip 
KOF 97  kof97.zip 
KOF 98  kof98.zip 
KOF 99  kof99.zip 
KOF 2000  kof2000.zipSound Issues
KOF 2001  kof2001.zipMissing Graphics
KOF 2002  kof2002.zipSound Issues
KOF 2003  kof2003.zipLockup
King of the Monsters  kotm.zip 
King of the Monsters 2  kotm2.zip 
Last Blade / Bakumatsu Roman - Gekka no Kenshi  lastblad.zip 
Last Blade 2 / Bakumatsu Roman - Dai Ni Maku Gekka no Kenshi  lastbld2.zip 
League Bowling  lbowling.zip 
Legend of Success Joe  legendos.zip 
Last Resort  lresort.zip 
Magical Drop 2  magdrop2.zip 
Magical Drop 3  magdrop3.zip 
Magician Lord  maglord.zip 
Mahjong Kyoretsuden  mahretsu.zip 
Chibi Marukochan Deluxe Quiz  marukodq.zip 
Matrimelee / Shin Gouketsuji Ichizoku Toukon  matrim.zip 
Money Puzzle Exchanger / Money Idol Exchanger  miexchng.zip 
Minnasan no Okagesamadesu  minasan.zip 
Syougi no Tatsujin - Master of Syougi  mosyougi.zip 
Metal Slug  mslug.zip 
Metal Slug 2  mslug2.zip 
Metal Slug X  mslugx.zip 
Metal Slug 3  mslug3.zipARM Core is OK, Possible Lockups on C core
Metal Slug 4  mslug4.zipARM Core is OK, Possible Lockups on C core
Metal Slug 5  mslug5.zipLockup
Mutation Nation  mutnat.zip 
NAM-1975  nam1975.zip 
Ninja Combat  ncombat.zip 
Ninja Commando  ncommand.zipARM Core is OK, Random Lockups on C Core
Neo Bomberman  neobombe.zip 
Neo-Geo Cup '98 - The Road to the Victory  neocup98.zip 
Neo Drift Out - New Technology  neodrift.zip 
Neo Mr. Do!  neomrdo.zip 
Nightmare in the Dark  nitd.zip 
Ninja Master's ninjamas.zip 
Over Top  overtop.zip 
Panic Bomber  panicbom.zip 
Puzzle Bobble 2 / Bust-A-Move Again  pbobbl2n.zip 
Puzzle Bobble / Bust-A-Move  pbobblen.zip 
Pleasure Goal / Futsal - 5 on 5 Mini Soccer  pgoal.zip 
Pochi and Nyaa  pnyaa.zipNo Sound
Pop 'n Bounce / Gapporin  popbounc.zip 
Prehistoric Isle 2  preisle2.zipMissing Graphics
Power Spikes II  pspikes2.zip 
Pulstar  pulstar.zip 
Puzzle De Pon!  puzzledp.zip 
Puzzle De Pon! R!  puzzldpr.zip 
Quiz Daisousa Sen - The Last Count Down  quizdais.zip 
Quiz Meitantei Neo & Geo - Quiz Daisousa Sen part 2  quizdai2.zip 
Quiz King of Fighters  quizkof.zip 
Ragnagard / Shin-Oh-Ken  ragnagrd.zip 
Real Bout Fatal Fury  rbff1.zip 
Real Bout Fatal Fury Special  rbffspec.zip 
Real Bout Fatal Fury 2  rbff2.zip 
Riding Hero  ridhero.zipMissing Graphics
Robo Army  roboarmy.zip 
Rage of the Dragons  rotd.zipMissing Graphics
Strikers 1945 Plus  s1945p.zipMissing Graphics
Samurai Showdown  samsho.zip 
Samurai Showdown 2  samsho2.zip 
Samurai Showdown 3  samsho3.zip 
Samurai Showdown 4  samsho4.zip 
Samurai Showdown 5  samsho5.zipLockup
Samurai Showdown 5 Special  samsh5sp.zipLockup
Savage Reign  savagere.zip 
Super Dodge Ball  sdodgeb.zip 
Sengoku 2  sengoku2.zip 
Sengoku 3  sengoku3.zipMissing Graphics
Shock Troopers  shocktro.zip 
Shock Troopers 2  shocktr2.zip 
Soccer Brawl  socbrawl.zip 
Sonic Wings 2  sonicwi2.zip 
Sonic Wings 3  sonicwi3.zip 
Spin Master / Miracle Adventure  spinmast.zip 
Super Sidekicks  ssideki.zip 
Super Sidekicks 2  ssideki2.zip 
Super Sidekicks 3  ssideki3.zip 
Ultimate 11 - The SNK Football Championship  ssideki4.zip 
Stakes Winner  stakwin.zip 
Stakes Winner 2  stakwin2.zip 
Street Hoop / Street Slam / Dunk Dream  strhoop.zip 
The Super Spy  superspy.zip 
SNK vs. CAPCOM SVC CHAOS  svc.zipLockup
Top Hunter - Roddy & Cathy  tophuntr.zipARM Core is OK, In-game Issues on C Core
Top Player's Golf  tpgolf.zip 
Thrash Rally  trally.zip 
Treasure of the Caribbean totcarib.zip 
Neo Turf Masters  turfmast.zip 
Twinkle Star Sprites  twinspri.zip 
Tecmo World Soccer '96  tws96.zipARM Core is OK, CPU Crash on C Core
Viewpoint  viewpoin.zipARM Core is OK, CPU Crash on C Core
V-Liner  vliner.zipCPU Reboots
Waku Waku 7  wakuwak7.zip 
World Heroes  wh1.zip 
World Heroes 2  wh2.zip 
World Heroes 2 Jet  wh2j.zip 
World Heroes Perfect  whp.zip 
Windjammers / Flying Power Disc  wjammers.zip 
Zed Blade / Operation Ragnarok  zedblade.zip 
Zupapa!  zupapa.zipMissing Graphics

Needed BIOS Files (number in parentheses is CRC-32): If you wish to remove unused files in your neogeo.zip, these are the exact files currently needed by NEO.emu
  • 000-lo.lo (0x5a86cff2)
  • sfix.sfix (0xc2ea0cfd)
  • For Universe BIOS mode: uni-bios_2_3.rom (0x27664eb5)
  • For MVS Japan mode : vs-bios.rom (0xf0e8f27d)
  • For MVS USA mode : usa_2slt.bin (0xe72943de)
  • For MVS Asia mode :asia-s3.rom (0x91b64be3)
  • For MVS Europe mode : sp-s2.sp1 (0x9036d879)